Audit Committee



The Audit Committee has responsibility to promote an appropriate environment for the management of public funds and a high level of accountability. The Committee will assist Council in fulfilling its due diligence, fiduciary, financial reporting and audit responsibilities and to approve, monitor, evaluate and provide advice on matters affecting the external audit, internal audit, risk management and the financial reporting and accounting control policies and practices of The County.


The goals and purpose of the Audit Committee are to advise and make recommendations, when necessary to Council on the following:

  • provide advice on the appointment of the external auditor
  • review the annual audit planning report
  • review the annual audited financial Statements from the external auditor and make recommendations
  • receive an update from the external auditor on the annual audit findings report, annual financial statements and report as needed to Council
  • monitor recommendations or findings brought to the audit committees attention by the external auditor through the audit findings report or otherwise
  • review proposed changes to financial control and related policies, accounting control policies and practices
  • review projects and provide advice to council on special projects assigned by council

Membership & Appointment

Committee Members are appointed for the Term of Council, or until reappointed. The Committee shall be composed, as follows:

  • Mayor
  • Four (4) Members of Council
  • One (1) Public representative

Committee Members

  • Members

    Wilma Vreeswijk

    Municipal Auditor - external resource

  • Council Members

    Mayor Steve Ferguson

    Councillor Stewart Bailey

    Councillor John Hirsch

    Councillor Phil Prinzen

    Councillor Phil St-Jean

  • Staff Contact(s)

    Amanda Carter, Director of Finance

    Contact: 613.476.2148 x1502